Casi Sandeman in Tokyo

DREAMZ!

DREAMZ!

So, I have been back from my trip to Japan for 5 days now. I can’t express how much I wanted to push off looking at my pictures, as if I was finally saying goodbye to the most impressionable and meaningful trip I have ever taken in my entire life. I finally unpacked today and put my precious memories-in-Pikachu-form in their rightful place. But, unfortunately for any Japanophile, the treats and toys pale in comparison to that of just simply being in the incredible country of Japan.

Quite the blessing to see snow

Quite the blessing to see snow

Through out my early childhood, to say that I was an outcast would be an understatement. Which was fine by me, as I was nurtured profusely with all of my nerdy, favorite things – Sailor Moon, Pokémon, Tamagotchi, Nintendo and the smallest, cutest items (particularly plastic food!) As I grew, the Japanese influence did not cease to exist. Japanese rock (Malice Mizer, Moi dix Mois) became my high school obsession – haha. By the time I was 20, I was knee-deep in all things Japanese – at least as close as I could get to any aspect of the culture, or cuisine (finally had sushi at 18!)

Most of the images in the gallery are completely un-edited. I didn’t bother with focusing on photography, so I could enjoy the experience more. But I do know I found so much information just from viewing other’s travel photos, so I thought I would include those for other people looking to visit Japan. ^__^

Snowfall in Shibuya

Snowfall in Shibuya

Inside, nice and warm.

Inside, nice and warm.

Stunning!

Stunning!

Shinjuku

Shinjuku

Shinjuku

Shinjuku

Snowman! So cute. There were so many all around town.

Snowman! So cute. There were so many all around town.

Embarrassing..  but there are other nerds out there that get it! Hhaha T_T

Embarrassing.. but there are other nerds out there that get it! Hhaha T_T

So many purikura!!

So many purikura!!

Nearing the entrance to Shinjuku station. It was so impressive... so vast, and powerful

Nearing the entrance to Shinjuku station. It was so impressive… so vast, and powerful

Roppongi

Roppongi

PLASTIC FOODZ! OMG

PLASTIC FOODZ! OMG

Asakusa

Asakusa

Wonderful to be here.

Wonderful to be here.

Asakusa

Asakusa

Cute couple in Asakusa

Cute couple in Asakusa

Not fake! Lol. Interesting hamburger place.

Not fake! Lol. Interesting hamburger place.

I bought so much.

I bought so much.

IMG_165

Asakusa

Asakusa

Asakusa

Asakusa

Asakusa

Asakusa

It is incredible how they are masters of their craft, in every way... Amazing treats everywhere.

It is incredible how they are masters of their craft, in every way… Amazing treats everywhere.

Available at the giant Gundam in Odaiba!

Available at the giant Gundam in Odaiba!

Venus Fort mall... I definitely recommend walking through.

Venus Fort mall… I definitely recommend walking through.

Venus Fort

Venus Fort

Instagram from Harajuku! Tamagotchi donuts... Yum

Instagram from Harajuku! Tamagotchi donuts… Yum

First signs of snow outside our hotel room!

First signs of snow outside our hotel room!

Had a little cold, but no worries. Love this system.

Had a little cold, but no worries. Love this system.

I am ADDICTED to Japanese Italian food.

I am ADDICTED to Japanese Italian food.

A view I dreamt of a million times.

A view I dreamt of a million times.

Tokyo feels so powerful.

Tokyo feels so powerful.

Great jacket I got from Shibuya~!

Great jacket I got from Shibuya~!

Outside of Roppongi Hills. So beautiful

Outside of Roppongi Hills. So beautiful

Instagram from Roppongi Hills

Instagram from Roppongi Hills

Inside the Starbucks in Shibuya. Have fun finding a seat!

Inside the Starbucks in Shibuya. Have fun finding a seat!

Snowy Akihabara... incredible, but cold this day!

Snowy Akihabara… incredible, but cold this day!

Snowy Shibuya, right after it began!

Snowy Shibuya, right after it began!

Amazing restaurant in Shibuya 109

Amazing restaurant in Shibuya 109

Aaaaah so good!

Aaaaah so good!

Crepe at Angels Heart in Harajuku. A must.

Crepe at Angels Heart in Harajuku. A must.

Famous crepes, all around Harajuku.

Famous crepes, all around Harajuku.

Walking to Shinjuku station.

Walking to Shinjuku station.

Not even close to their "high quality" fish, and it still schooled anything I have ever had.

Not even close to their “high quality” fish, and it still schooled anything I have ever had.

Nakano

Nakano

Nakano

Nakano

Best. McDonalds. Ever.

Best. McDonalds. Ever.

When I was lost by myself. Haha

When I was lost by myself. Haha

Waiting for the train...

Waiting for the train…

My dream came true - I was Sailor Jupiter in Tokyo~!!

My dream came true – I was Sailor Jupiter in Tokyo~!!

EXHAUSTED. But so worth it!

EXHAUSTED. But so worth it!

Shibuya sidestreet

Shibuya sidestreet

Miss the trains...

Miss the trains…

Kappabashi-dori ... Sample Shop, sells the most amazing plastic food EVER. I WAS IN LOVE.

Kappabashi-dori … Sample Shop, sells the most amazing plastic food EVER. I WAS IN LOVE.

DREAMZ!

DREAMZ!

SO much fun! So many pictures with people!

SO much fun! So many pictures with people!

My buddy, my faux fur coat.

My buddy, my faux fur coat.

Construction site in Harajuku

Construction site in Harajuku

CALICO CAT CAFE!!! What probably seems so dumb, was incredible.

CALICO CAT CAFE!!! What probably seems so dumb, was incredible.

Japanese Italian.. miss it, and the plastic food!

Japanese Italian.. miss it, and the plastic food!

Harajuku

Harajuku

Odaiba

Odaiba

View from Roppongi Hills

View from Roppongi Hills

Odaiba

Odaiba

Sick in Shinjuku

Sick in Shinjuku

Tamagotchi Donuts in Harajuku

Tamagotchi Donuts in Harajuku

So happy here!

So happy here!

Yoshinoya

Yoshinoya

Giant Gundam in Odaiba

Giant Gundam in Odaiba

Venus Fort

Venus Fort

The Pokemon Center!!

The Pokemon Center!!

Shinjuku morning

Shinjuku morning

Nerd's dream - it sure was mine - Mandarake

Nerd’s dream – it sure was mine – Mandarake

The view of the first place we stepped foot onto in Japan, outside of the station

The view of the first place we stepped foot onto in Japan, outside of the station

Harajuku!

Harajuku!

Roppongi Hills

Roppongi Hills

In Mitaka, outside of the Studio Ghibli museum

In Mitaka, outside of the Studio Ghibli museum

Awesomeness everywhere.

Awesomeness everywhere.

Outside of the Tama Depa store

Outside of the Tama Depa store

Only in Japan...

Only in Japan…

EVERYWHERE. is awesome.

EVERYWHERE. is awesome.

Geeked out hard to the lights.

Geeked out hard to the lights.

Harajuku

Harajuku

The cutest, and most aggressive cat at the cafe!

The cutest, and most aggressive cat at the cafe!

Shinjuku

Odaiba

Odaiba

Calico Cat Cafe

Calico Cat Cafe

Right after we were approached by a host boy...

Right after we were approached by a host boy…

Kirby!

Kirby!

Awesome game center.

Awesome game center.

Shinjuku

In early September, I’m not quite sure what little birdy sung in my ear – but I was in a particularly frustrating spot in life, and I just had to do something. Feeling so restless, the moment the thought even began to cross my mind, I had already acknowledged and accepted the challege – I was going to get to Japan under any circumstance! On September 3rd, I met with my three best friends, all with a unique and personal love for Japan as well. Two weeks later, the Lord blessed us because somehow we had just booked our tickets dated for January, 2013! (Thanks to the immense support of our loved ones for making such a sudden decision!)

Odaiba

While sitting for literally four months straight just doing research on everything and anything Japan-related, I would imagine us in Tokyo. I would put us in the Instagram’s of all the lucky travelers before us and I would know – we will be there soon enough! But even I could never expect how Japan did not simply “meet” my dreams – this country surpassed them. Even with the all the imagination and passion I have in my body, I didn’t expect Japan to have such an impact on me and our friendships. I feel such a tight bond with these ladies, and Tokyo simply solidified it!

Shinjuku

I am simply working the hardest I can, just to get back to Japan. I have found my soulmate country and I have never felt so connected to myself! I think we all learned a lot about ourselves, and isn’t that always the most rewarding part of travel? I can’t wait to be back. It can be just too addicting!

Shinjuku 

These are just a few of the moments I was lucky enough to have with my three best friends. If you would like to see more, as they were coming live, please visit my Instagram. ^_^

Thank you for reading~!

3 thoughts on “Casi Sandeman in Tokyo

Leave a Reply

